some days, i wonder who i am,

wallowing in my silence at the library,

rather, drowning in my thoughts so loud.

waiting at the bus-stop,

ten tabs open in my brain,

but still stopping to appreciate,

the sun out on a gloomy day.

i wonder who i am,

talking, laughing with my loves,

or slowly choking in the racism

slowly creeping up on me.

i wonder if i were white,

if i were beautiful,

if i were smart,

what would i be?

then again, i wonder.

who am i?

i am me,

unapologetically me,

skin, brown and spotted,

brain, too over-crowded,

friends, few and dear,

i am me.

 

Leave a Reply

